RSS

In the Pantry (part 3)

30 Jul

No. of times up during the night: 2 x feeding bubs

Rise and shine: 7.40am

Chocolate consumed: a couple of handfuls of maltesers, hot chocolate

Toilet timeouts: 0

On the menu:  Capsicum ring quiches, hash browns, chicken omelettes (basically stuff I made up on the spot to use up some of our excess of eggs and potatoes)

All kids in bed by: 7.30pm

My bedtime: 10.45pm

Today I…

Started cleaning out the laundry.

In the Pantry

I’ve pretty much finished day 5 of 31 Days to an Organised Home (organising my pantry). I just have a touch more organising to do on the top shelf. With the arrival of a new freezer tomorrow I’ve had to turn my focus from the kitchen to the laundry so the freezer will fit. Today on the blog, however, I’m sharing shelf three, which was probably the most disorganised shelf in the pantry. A reminder of what my pantry looked like before:

BEFORE

Now onto the middle shelf:

AFTER

Shelf 3

Here’s the breakdown:

– I’d like my crackers to be contained together somehow, but I didn’t have a container to fit that space, so at the moment they’re just stacked together in that corner in their boxes.

– My baby food is now all together in a labelled basket, making it easy to find if bubs needs a quick meal.

– My coffee, tea, etc is now a bit easier to access. Before it was in the corner behind everything and I was forever knocking things over trying to get to it. The teabags have been put into a labelled glass jar to keep them fresh; it’s also a more effective use of space than leaving them in their box, which never seemed to fit anywhere properly. I’ve also tidied and reorganised my tea and coffee area near the kettle with small jars I can refill so I don’t have to get the bigger jars/tins out of the pantry every time I make a cuppa.

– Biscuits are in a biscuit tin rather than opened packets so they don’t go stale. I’ve used baking paper to line the tin and also to separate different types of biscuits. The baking paper can be replaced when new biscuits are put in the tin–this is easier than having to clean the tin all the time.

– Condiments are still grouped together on the round tray as I like this system, but I’ve moved it to the centre of the shelf so I’m less likely to knock over bottles when reaching for other items (before it blocked off the corner with the coffee, etc).

– Meal bases are lined up in a shallow basket and I can just flick through them to find the one I want.

*HANDY TIP* I’ve been doing this with my soups for a while and it’s such a great system. Rather than having a heap of boxes of cup-a-soups taking up room in my pantry, I’ve used a narrow box (a basket would work just as well) and cut out the front of each soup box to work like a file with packets placed behind their appropriate cover. Now if I feel like chicken noodle soup I only have to look at the top of the file to locate it (no sifting through boxes to find the right one!) To make it look even neater, I’ve used white paper and a black marker to cover the front of the box and label it.

– My tins of food section isn’t quite finished yet. I love the idea from this blog of having a set of steps to organise tinned food and currently have one of my hubby’s uncles making one up for me. In the meantime, I’ve made makeshift steps out of egg cartons. Having the steps means I can see the labels on the tins at the back and can access them more easily.

– Again I’ve used white paper and a black marker to label where everything belongs.

P.S. Hubby is loving the new pantry so much he even showed it off to his mum! My MIL is notorious for her cleaning and she complimented it, too! Now if only I could get the rest of the house as organised.

Two more shelves to share.

In the Pantry Part 1

In the Pantry Part 2

In the Pantry Part 4

In the Pantry Part 5

 
 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “In the Pantry (part 3)

Help and advice is always welcome! Or feel free to to chime in if you can relate so I don't feel alone.

 
