RSS

Kitchen Cupboard Organisation

21 Oct

Two posts today. I actually have a quiet Sunday with boy wonder at a sleep-over, bubs napping and the princess playing quietly, so I thought I would finally share the last of my kitchen posts.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have few cupboards in my kitchen, so I’ve had to use a bit of improvisation to make the most of my space. Here are the before and after shots…

Cupboard 1 (next to the stove)

AFTER

– I’ve moved the cheese graters to a new home, as well as the baking trays, leaving these shelves less crowded.

– I found the raised cooling rack at the op shop for $1. It raises the pots up with room underneath to store the smaller lids instead of stacking them on top of the pots (which always caused an avalanche anytime I got a pot out.

– Larger pots are at the back and smaller ones at the front. Chopping boards on the side. Cake pans are stacked together on the bottom shelf.

Cupboard 2 (under the sink)

BEFORE

AFTER

– My biggest problem with this cupboard is that the mice seem to love it, hence why I don’t keep much in there. I still haven’t figured out what to do with the BBQ utensils, so they’re still there for the time being. I also popped all the mouse traps in there while I’m not using them.

– I found the magazine rack at the op shop and thought it would be perfect to hold all my baking tray and muffin pans, instead of having them all stacked up with my cake pans. I’m hoping since the rack raises them up a bit and they’re on their sides, they’ll be relatively safe from the mice. I won’t know how effective this is until next winter now.

– The large pot lids look kind of weird (attached to the pipes with rubber bands), but it keeps them off the bottom of the cupboard where the mice go.

Cupboards 3 & 4 (under the sink and next to cutlery drawer)

BEFORE

BEFORE

(Don’t you hate all those plastic/tupperware containers! If we ever build our own house I want a big slide out drawer for all my tupperware and containers)

AFTER

– I’m pretty happy with my container solution, not only does it make it easier to find the container I’m looking for, but it also means I don’t have to worry about mice getting into them (before I constantly had to wash and disinfect my containers because of the mice).

– I’m now using the freed up shelf for cleaning products like spare sponges, garbage bags, disinfectant wipes and spare boxes of tissues.

Cupboard 5

BEFORE

AFTER

– I’ve done a switcheroo with my glassware and cooking appliances. Since I use my appliances all the time and very rarely use my glassware, I’ve put my glassware in this cupboard so they’re no longer collecting dust. (I’ll show you the corner in a minute.)

Cupboards 6 & 7 (crockery)

BEFORE

AFTER

– I decided to put all the cups/glasses/mugs on the top shelf and all the plates/bowls on the bottom, I figure it probably makes more sense than how I had it before.

– I’ve labelled where everything goes just so it stays a bit more organised (I hope), though yesterday hubby put dinner plates away where the glasses go, so maybe not.

– You can’t see in this pic, but hidden behind the top lip of the cupboard there are heaps of hooks for hanging mugs. This is actually one space-saving thing that was already here when we moved in and I love it (though guests often have trouble locating the mugs because they’re so hidden).

– Since I took this picture, I actually picked up one of those tiered plate racks at the op shop (for $1, I think) and it has made the bottom shelf even more organised because my plates are now stacked on it.

Corner

BEFORE

AFTER

– After I repurposed the small set of drawers for my tupperware, I bought I nicer looking set of 5 drawers from Sam’s Warehouse (I think they were only $15 or $20). I labelled them so it would be easy to see what each drawer holds (1. tea towels, 2. freezer bags/brown paper bags, 3. cooking bits and pieces, eg: measuring cups, 4. plasticware, eg: disposable plates for parties/BBQs, 5. Party supplies, eg: balloons, streamers, banners)

– I switched the dust-collecting glassware to the cupboard (after culling over half of it). Now the shelves hold all my cooking appliances, making them easier to access. You can see this is also where my cheese graters found their new home.

Bonus Areas

The Bin/Phone Area

BEFORE

AFTER

– I repurposed a tray I picked up at the op shop (another $1 bargain) into a little shelf to go next to our phone. The curved edges make it perfect for holding pens and we now have somewhere to keep our phonebook and write messages instead of on the not-very-spacious kitchen bench.

– An old whiteboard I had lying around now has a purpose and is much more convenient for writing my shopping list and phone messages than the whiteboard out by the coatracks.

– I’d previously been using a recycled cardboard box for keeping bottles tidy beside the bin, but it was starting to break and get soggy on the bottom, so I decided to get a plastic tub instead, which is much sturdier, plus I can clean it easily if any bottles leak.

– I also bought a new brush and shovel as my old one was a bit dodgy after being used to sweep hot coals by the fire over the winter. I love this new one because I can use it standing up! No more crouching to sweep up crumbs. It cost me $8 at The Reject Shop.

– I love my Bag Bag for keeping my old shopping bags (which I can then reuse–so much cheaper than buying those nappy sacks for dirty nappies).

Hooks for Frying Pans

– Instead of my frying pan/wok/strainer taking up space in my cupboards, I’ve hung them on hooks by my stove. A great space saver! Plus easy access.

– Kids’ artwork is great for covering up holes in the wall.

Over the Door Hanger

– I found this hanger at the $2 Shop and just knew it would come in handy for something. I’ve popped it onto my pantry door to hang my oven mitts, long BBQ tongs and a cute bucket of cookie cutters.

So that’s my totally reorganised kitchen! What are some of your favourite organisation/space saving ideas in you kitchen? I’d love to hear them.

Next I’ll be sharing my dining room (it won’t be quite as lengthy as my kitchen posts).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in In the Kitchen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Help and advice is always welcome! Or feel free to to chime in if you can relate so I don't feel alone.

 
